B.R.M.C. You Are Going To Get A Great Review!

March 11, 2010
The Echoplex, Los Angeles

Black Rebel Motorcycle Club

Black Rebel Motorcycle Club

Oh guys, it’s been WAY too long!! One of my favorite B.R.M.C. memories is when I first heard their debut album, B.R.M.C. Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, back in 2000. It may have even been an advance copy, and my colleague and friend, Brigitte, had just added it to the rotation at the office. “WHO is THIS?!” we all asked. “B.R.M.C.” Brigitte would respond as if to say, “Yeah, I know what’s up. . . ”  “What’s B.R.M.C.?” we’d beg for as much insight as possible. Brigitte would take a deep breath and then enunciate the words with purpose and precision: “Black. Rebel. Motorcycle. Club.” Their first album was aptly self-titled, and soon, you knew who they were.

Robert Levon Been

Robert Levon Been

My second favorite B.R.M.C. memory is when they played acoustic at The Hotel Cafe several years ago. It was after Howl which came out in 2005, so this was four or five years ago. To this day, that moment remains among my top Hotel Cafe memories. And, as you can see, it’s simultaneously one of my all-time favorite B.R.M.C. memories.

Peter Hayes

Peter Hayes

My most favorite B.R.M.C. memory is the show they played at The Echoplex tonight, 10 years after I was initially introduced to them. As stated on their website, “Somewhere between the five full-length albums and a decade-long road test across the highways of the world, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club found their way.”

Robert

Robert

I’d say B.R.M.C. found their way at the beginning, or knew their way all along.  Here’s a band that is exceptionally talented and they could have taken some shortcuts along the way, they could have sold out, they could have given up.  Instead, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club maintained their art and their integrity and took some risks.  I remember when they released Howl and it was a departure from the B.R.M.C. “signature sound” fans became so familiar with.  It was during a time when several bands were veering away from the music they had become known for, and without fail, each departure was an absolute disaster.  But not B.R.M.C.  Howl was a standout album for the band, and a likely bridge to the wider audience that is now among their fans.  Howl became yet another proof point of just how talented the band is.

Peter Hayes, Robert Levon Been, and Leah Shapiro were, simply put: fuckin’ great! They played everything from, one of my personal favorites, “Open Invitation” to “Berlin,” “Beat The Devil’s Tattoo,” “Bad Blood,” “White Palms,” “The Toll,” and “Ain’t No Easy Way.”   Robert did most of the speaking, which is ironic because one of the first things he said was, “I woke up this morning and had no voice.”  You wouldn’t know anybody wasn’t feeling up to par based on their performance.  It was one of the tightest shows I’ve seen in recent memory.  10 years ago it was one of the tightest shows I had seen then.

B.R.M.C. stuck it out through the de-evolution of record labels and the dissolution of other bands that began around the same time as they did.  B.R.M.C. haven’t compromised a thing, are better than ever, and are now playing 3 sold-out shows at The Echoplex – which gives you 2 more shows to get to.  No excuses.  See this band.

6 Comments

Filed under The Echoplex

6 responses to “B.R.M.C. You Are Going To Get A Great Review!

  1. Pingback: B.R.M.C. at The Echoplex night 2: My 10-year love affair continues « Rock Is A Girl's Best Friend

  2. Great review, great documenting ,added to email list
    what camera do you use ?

  3. aaron

    they opened with “war machine”. it was a shame their sound guys didn’t have it together for the opener. everything sounded great after that though.

  4. Travis

    Do you have the set list? I’m dying to know what they opened up with…I have BRMC, HOWL, BABY 81 and now BEAT THE DEVIL’S TATTOO, but am guessing I missed what this was from the other album?

    • Hey there. Sorry – I don’t typically take down the set lists, prefer to relax into the show and the experience. If I see it posted elsewhere, I’ll send you the link. These shows are supporting Beat The Devil’s Tattoo so they played much of that album, plus some old favorites. Last night is the only night I had tix to, but now I want to go to all 3 🙂

  5. Great read as always. While I didn’t get on board till “Take Them On, On Your Own”, I feel the same way as you do about this amazing band. Show #6 for me is tonight at Amoeba 🙂

Tell us what you think!

